Winter is still here…

I am typing this out while the LO sleeps in. I’m really hoping that I can get it done, doubtful. Lol

I would like to first say that I haven’t posted in a while and realize that I need to do more. I will be posting a new daily meal plan each day for a week. I will add how I made each meal and post pictures for your viewing pleasure. I will post prices and where I shopped to get these things also. We live on a grocery budget of $150 for two weeks, that includes personal hygiene items and cleaning products also. I save a lot of money by making most of my own cleaning and laundry supplies. I will do a totally separate post on that next time I make laundry soap and cleaning stuff…

For today I do not have prices or pictures for what I’m making. I will add them later
BREAKFAST
Blueberry oatmeal. I found it at our local grocery store on sale for $0.58 a box, there are 5 pkgs. in each box. AND it is “real food”, meaning no preservatives and no fake or added sugars. They also added flax seed to the pkgs.
SNACK
Apples and Bananas. Organic Fuji apples and the normal large banans
LUNCH
Left overs from last night. Chicken teriyaki, all fresh foods and gluten free. It is a “dump” meal. Meaning I made it earlier, froze it and “dumped” it in the Crock-Pot.
SNACK
Animal crackers. I have one child that is 19 months now and 5 1/2 years old.
DINNER
Tonight we will be going light, the stomach flu has been going around…I will make tomato soup (from a can) with “goldfish” type crackers. The kids will also have 1/2 of a grilled cheese each.

That is very typical for us to eat like this. I mean the layout. We usually have salads and deserts, but I didn’t find any good salads on sale and I’m trying to cut all processed sweets out. It is not easy because we are so conditioned to eat them. My kindergartner is the hardest one hit. He takes his lunch and eats snacks at school. We shall see what happens.

3 thoughts on “Winter is still here…

    • Sorry this took so long to respond. I have been very busy with summer and some family issues. Yes, here is the recipe…
      Teriyaki Dump Chicken 1 clove garlic, crushed 1/3 cup soy sauce 2 tablespoons rice wine (or sherry) 1 1/2 tablespoons cider vinegar 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar 1/2 tablespoons minced ginger 1 1/2 pounds chicken pieces For freezing Place all ingredients into a 1-gallon freezer bag. Lay flat in freezer. To thaw and cook: Take the bag out of the freezer the night before, making sure the freezer bag is completely sealed. Place the bag on a shelf furthest from the freezer (It works best if the bag is laying flat, although this may not be the best option with a side-by-side refrigerator/freezer). For baking Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Place all ingredients into a large baking dish, turning chicken to coat. Bake until chicken juices run clear (about 30 to 60 minutes depending upon the chicken pieces used). For the crock pot Put chicken in the bottom of the pot. Pour remaining ingredients over the chicken. Cook on LOW for 6-8 hours or on HIGH for 4-6 hours or until done.

Leave a comment